WLP at CSW68

Event Details

  • Time

    05:30pm

  • Date

    13 Mar, 2024

  • Location

    • Church of Sweden
    • 5 E. 48th St. New York, New York
  • Contact

    wlp@learningpartnership.org

From March 11-22, 2024, government officials, international policy leaders, and civil society activists convened in New York for the 68th Commission on the Status of Women (CSW68).  At the CSW68, Member States will make commitments to accelerate gender equality by addressing poverty and strengthening institutions and financing with a gender perspective.

We invite you to learn more about Women’s Learning Partnership's CSW68 events and activities that shared the key priorities of civil society organizations around the world who are advancing women’s rights through economic justice. 

 

Side-Event-CSW68-LawandJustice-GCEFL

Side Event

 

The Economics of Family Law:  A Domino Effect on Gender Equality (In-Person Event)

Hosted by The Global Campaign for Equality in Family Law

March 13, 2024 | 5:30-7:00 PM

Church of Sweden, 5 E. 48th St., New York

WATCH THE EVENT RECORDING HERE

 

CSW68-Parallel-Event-WLP

Parallel Event

 

Advancing Women’s Economic Justice:  Partnering for Women’s Economic Rights Globally (Virtual Event)

Hosted by Women’s Learning Partnership 

March 19, 2024 |  WATCH THE RECORDING HERE

11:00 AM Washington DC, 3:00 PM Rabat, 4:00 PM Lagos, 6:00 PM Istanbul, 8:00 PM Islamabad

Join Women’s Learning Partnership for an event that spotlights how women's organizations in the Global South harness the power of women's leadership to tackle the critical issue of economic rights for women. This event will showcase the transformative impact that arises when women lead policies and initiatives that foster inclusive economic landscapes.

Moderator

Nadereh Chamlou | WLP Board Member, Nonresident Senior Fellow at the Atlantic Council

Panelists

Ouafaa Amdaou | Program Coordinator at Association Démocratique des Femmes du Maroc (ADFM)

Gökçen Durutaş | Program Coordinator at Foundation for the Support of Women’s Work (KEDV)

Joy Ngwakwe | WLP Regional Director, Executive Director of Center for Advancement of Development Rights (CEADER)

Rabeea Hadi Shah | Global Facilitator at Aurat Foundation

 

 

List of Recommendations for Member States

Ahead of the CSW, WLP convened representatives of our partner organizations from 14 countries to discuss the strategies, recommendations, and needs of CSOs who are supporting women’s economic rights. WLP published their recommendations for Member States at the CSW68 on how governments should address the legal and social challenges facing women’s economic participation and security. The recommendations were disseminated to policymakers attending the CSW. You can read the full list here